So. You found me here.

If you could list who I am in words, you would find the following:

Registered Nurse

Graduate Student

Sister

Daughter

Aunt

Girlfriend

& Dog-mom.

I could stop there and I would, momentarily, feel that list of words would be sufficient in describing all the things I am, right now. But it isn’t.

I am a single woman, in her early 30s, living in San Diego. I’ve been forever overweight (in varying degrees) and trying to lose it since high school. However, I am physically active, which tells you I have an eating-whatever-I-want problem, and not the “I do nothing but sit” one.  I enjoy indoor rock climbing, hiking, kickboxing, taking pictures*, planning parties, and watching people on youtube put on make up. I also enjoy bulletjournaling when time allows. I have a bodice for when I go to renaissance faires as a patron. I have a lot of interests in a lot of things.

I graduated from nursing school in 2010, but recently transferred to the intensive care unit this year. This is important because, after 7 years of feeling like I knew my  way around the nursing field, my transfer to the ICU has me feeling like a new nurse again. And it’s incredibly frustrating and scary and disheartening. It’s also exhilarating, mind-opening, and wonderfully fulfilling work.

I love what I do, obsessively so.

At the same time, I entered my master’s program. Why did I do this at the same time?! Hubris. That’s the only way I can explain it to myself. I thought I could, and now I feel like I am drowning. I’m sure I am developing an allergy to APA style. Which is fine now because I’ve realized that the antidote is blogging.

Oh, and I started this blog. But I’m doing this mostly to vent and exercise my written voice. It’s been awhile. I don’t think my lengthy facebook posts to update friends, family, and colleagues are garnering me any fans. See, I’m all about freedom of choice. So if you find yourself on my blog, then you have chosen to be here. And remember, that’s your fault and not mine.

My plans for this blog post is to dump all things nursing and SoCal lifestyle related here. Between opinions on breaking medical news, to what I ate last night that was keto-friendly – I will want to talk about it. I’ve got a ton of interests in a lot of things, and sharing them is the only true thing that encompasses it all together. I’m not an expert at anything, but I like to think I have a fairly optimistic outlook on things.

I’ve got another paper to write and I just took my medicinal blog post cure. I’ll be back soon.

 

Sincerely,

asia

 

*I didn’t use the word ‘photography’ because what I do with a camera is not nearly as cool or deserving as that word requires.

Leave a Reply

