Tonight, I work: A Night shift life.

I tried to sleep late. I went to bed around 2am. I woke up at around at 10am and just knew it was too early. I tried to stay in bed as long as I could. I tried reading a book and it almost did the trick, but it was too bright outside and my windows aren’t blacked out (note: get blackout curtains). I am working tonight, and the next 2 nights. I work from 7pm to 7:30am. I am a nurse and I have to be alert and awake and competent when the rest of the world is asleep.

Night shift life is an adjustment. I thrive in the day, but I am making this sacrifice to work nights so that I can receive my experience working in the Intensive Care Unit. I love my work and this sacrifice is worth it but this adjustment is rough. I’m so uncertain if I can make it to the two year mark before getting a transfer request, but I know I am going to try my hardest.

Since I work the next three nights, this means I need to prepare all my meals today. I should have done it yesterday but I was tired from the weekend. I’ll pay for it this week.

I work well with list, so I am going to make a list of things that will get me through this week.

  1. Black tea – I am starting to love unsweetened black tea, and I get a free refill at the lobby Starbucks
  2. Keto Diet – I lost 5 lbs in a week and have had the side effect of energy and needing less sleep to be as alert. Also, no carbs means no food coma at 4am.
  3. Prepared – I’ve done all the laundry I need to get through the week
  4. It will go by fast. The ICU hasn’t slowed down enough to allow me to get sleepy
  5. I get the 4 days off after.

I want to bulletjournal again soon. July is coming and I haven’t made my layout yet. I’m thinking I can start that tomorrow before work, or at least create a draft of my next layout during my lunch.

I can’t help by dread how much I will miss my dog and my significant other. Being gone for 3 nights basically mean I see them Tuesday morning, and won’t see them again until Friday night when he gets home. I think this is the hardest part of the night shift for me.

I’m going to go prep my food now. Here is a list before I leave:

  1. Smoked Salmon with arugula and pepitas, greek dressing (45 min dinner break x3)
  2. baby bel minis and italian meats (emergency snack)
  3. tajin for sweet cravings
  4. black tea for +3 nights
  5. keto tortilla + shredded meats and salsa and cheese (9pm 15 min snack break x3)
  6. Blueberry cheesecake smoothie – blueberries, cottage cheese, soy, yogurt for ‘breakfast aka before work’ x3

 

’til next time,

asia

One thought on “Tonight, I work: A Night shift life.

  1. As always, I’m thankful for the sacrifices that our health professionals make to look after others. Make sure you look after you. Don’t worry about setting up your bullet journal in a fancy layout, do enough that it works for you. Good luck with achieving your goals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

